27 September 2023

Senior Appointments

Start the conversation

New members for Respect Board

Four new members have been appointed to the Board of Respect Victoria, the State agency for preventing family violence and violence against women.

The new members are Nesreen Bottriell, Jan Noblett, Professor Steven Roberts and Daphne Yarram.

Ms Bottriell (pictured 1) is a General Manager at the Australian Muslim Women’s Centre for Human Rights; Ms Noblett (pictured 2) is Director of Quality and Outcomes at Anglicare Victoria; Professor Roberts (pictured 3) is an Associate Dean Grad Research (Education) and Professor of Education and Social Justice at Monash University; and Ms Yarram (pictured 4) the Chief Executive of Yoowinna Wurnalung Aboriginal Healing Service in East Gippsland and chairperson of Aboriginal Housing Victoria.

The appointments replace outgoing Board members, Dr Wei Leng Kwok, Rodney Jackson and Liana Papoutsis.

Casson to Infrastructure board

Rebecca Casson has been appointed to the Infrastructure Victoria board.

The board is an independent advisory body for the State’s 30-year infrastructure strategy and Ms Casson (pictured) is chair of the Building Industry Consultative Council, president of Incolink and a director of the Victorian Skills Authority.

Ms Casson was previously CEO of Master Builders Victoria and was the first woman appointed to the role in the organisation’s 147-year history. She led Master Builders Victoria for four years including through positive transformation during the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.

She joins the Infrastructure Victoria board after past directors Ann Sherry and Professor Margaret Gardner concluded their terms.

Judges appointed to Courts

Two new judges to the Supreme Court and two to the County Court have been announced by the Attorney-General Jaclyn Symes.

Associate Justice Patricia Matthews (pictured) and Peter Gray KC are to join the Supreme Court and Diana Manova and Robyn Harper the County Court, all from 14 June.

Associate Justice Matthews was appointed an Associate Judge of the Supreme Court in December 2020 and Peter Gray KC has practiced at the Victorian Bar since 1996.

Diana Manova has practised at the Victorian Bar since 2001and Robyn Harper has served as Crown Prosecutor for the Office of Public Prosecutions since 2018.

Sarah Slade joins ACMI

The Australia Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) has appointed Sarah Slade as Executive Director Commercial & Operations.

Sarah (pictured) has over 30 years of experience in senior and executive leadership positions across the Australian and UK cultural sectors.

She replaces Graham Jephcott who will conclude his role with ACMI on Friday 7 July.

Ferrington to FRV

Greg Ferrington has been appointed to Fire and Rescue Victoria’s Strategic Advisory Committee.

Mr Ferrington (pictured) is currently the Chairperson of the North Western Metropolitan Adult, Community and Further Education Council, Vice Chair of Neighbourhood Houses Victoria and Chairperson of Glenroy Neighbourhood House.

Woodward to Supreme Court

Ted Woodward has been appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria and President of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT).

Judge Woodward (pictured) has served as a Judge of the County Court of Victoria since 2017 and as a Vice President of VCAT in 2018.

He replaces Justice Michelle Quigley who will continue to serve as President of VCAT until 30 June.

Slatter to head TAC

Tracey Slatter has been appointed Chief Executive of the Transport Accident Commission (TAC).

Ms Slatter (pictured) is currently CEO of Barwon Water and has previously served as CEO at the City of Port Phillip.

She begins her role on 3 July, taking over from Joe Calafiore who served in the position for eight years.

Cronin to VBA

Anna Cronin has been appointed Chief Executive of the Victorian Building Authority (VBA).

Ms Cronin (pictured) is currently Commissioner for the Better Regulation and Red Tape Commissioner.

She takes over from Sue Eddy who served the position from November 2017.

Abbott to lead ESTA

Debra Abbott has been appointed Chief Executive of the Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority (ESTA).

Ms Abbott currently serves as Deputy Chief Executive of ESTA and has previously served as Deputy Emergency Management Commissioner at Emergency Management Victoria.

She commences her appointment on 31 July, replacing outgoing CEO, Stephen Leane, who has served in the position since April 2022.

Long to Safer Care Victoria

Karrie Long has been appointed Victoria’s Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer (CNMO) with Safer Care Victoria.

Ms Long (pictured) has previously served as Director of Nursing Research and Interim Chief Nursing Officer at the Royal Melbourne Hospital.

She commenced her appointment on 20 April.

McCammon to DFFH

Peta McCammon has been appointed Secretary of the Department of Families, Fairness and Housing (DFFH).

Ms McCammon (pictured) most recently served as Associate Secretary of the Department of Justice and Community Safety and has also played senior positions in the Department of Premier and Cabinet (DPC), the Department of Treasury and Finance and the then Department of Human Services.

Ada to DJSIR

Tim Ada has been appointed Secretary of the Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions (DJSIR).

Mr Ada (pictured) most recently served as Deputy Secretary, Economic Policy and State at the Department of Premier and Cabinet, prior to which he was Deputy Secretary of Jobs and Innovation at the then Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions, and held executive positions in the former Department of Environment and Primary Industries and,in the mid-2000s, established the Victorian Government Business Office in New York.

Jennings to Mental Health Commission

Treasure Jennings has been appointed inaugural Chair of the new Mental Health and Wellbeing Commission along with three Commissioners.

Ms Jennings (pictured) is currently Mental Health Complaints Commissioner and has served as Public Transport Ombudsman and Deputy Chairperson of the Independent Office for School Dispute Resolution Victoria.

She is joined by Annabel Brebner, Jacqueline Gibson and Kathleen Maggie Toko who have been appointed Commissioners.

Among the three Commissioners, Ms Brebner moves from being Director, Performance Audit at the Victorian Auditor-General’s Office; Ms Gibson from being a board member on a variety of national and State bodies; and Ms Toko from serving as Assistant Commissioner of the Mental Health Complaints Commissioner.

Szunejko to State Library

Monika Szunejko has been appointed Director, Collections at the State Library Victoria.

Ms Szunejko (pictured) is Director, Collections and Technology at Monash University and has previously served as Director, Libraries Australia at the National Library of Australia.

She is to commence her appointment in April.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.