27 September 2023

Senior Appointments

Start the conversation

Sloane to new Health job

NSW Health has appointed former Coordinator General of Regional Health Division, Luke Sloane as its first ever appointment of Deputy Secretary for Regional Health.

The Deputy Secretary for Regional Health position is to play as a strong advocate for resources and staffing.

The Mr Sloane’s (pictured) position is to be supported by the Regional Health Division which was established in April 2022.

Coombe to top vet

Dr Joanne Coombe has been appointed NSW Chief Veterinary Officer, within the NSW Department of Primary Industries.

Dr Coombe (pictured) moved to Australia from her country of birth, Wales, in 2001, completed undergraduate, doctoral and post-doctoral studies at Melbourne University and worked for several years as a dairy vet in rural Victoria.

Sher replaces outgoing Chief Veterinary Officer Dr Sarah Britton who served in the position for the past 5 years.

Dr Coombe commenced with NSW DPI on 21 June.

Two from Counsel to Court

Two senior counsel have been announced as judges in the New South Wales Supreme Court’s Equity Division.

Anthony McGrath SC and Scott Nixon SC are to take on the positions.

Mr McGrath SC (pictured left) was called to the NSW Bar in 2000 and appeared regularly before the NSW Supreme Court and Federal Court of Australia, as well as the Independent Commission Against Corruption and in Royal Commissions.

Mr Nixon SC (pictured right) was a Rhodes Scholar called to the New South Wales Bar in 2004. His principal practices were class actions, claims for breach of directors’ duties and professional negligence claims. He was appointed Senior Counsel in 2016.

The two new appointments replace Justice Philip Hallen and Justice Rowan Darke, both of whom are retiring.

Dizdar to Education

Murat Dizdar has been appointed Secretary of the NSW Department of Education.

Mr Dizdar (pictured) has acted in the role since April.

He has more than 25 years’ experience within the education sector, holding a range of operational roles within educational settings as well as senior executive roles within the Department of Education.

Acting Treasurer steps up

Michael Coutts-Trotter has been appointed Secretary of the Treasury. He has been acting in the role for the past month.

Mr Coutts-Trotter (pictured) was first appointed to head a NSW Government Department in 2004 and has since led seven Agencies, including the Departments of Premier and Cabinet, Family and Community Services, Education and Finance and Services.

Before joining the Public Service, he was the Chief of Staff to NSW Treasurer, Michael Egan.

Dale to Valuer General

Sally Dale has been appointed NSW Valuer General.

Ms Dale (pictured) has previously served as Acting Executive Director of Valuer General NSW. She is the first woman to be appointed to the position in its over 100-year history.

Her appointment is for 12 months commencing on 1 June, during which time a full and open recruitment process will be undertaken prior to the statutory appointment of a Valuer General for a period of seven years.

Duncan to lead DPC change

Peter Duncan has been appointed Acting Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet (DPC) for a three month term.

Mr Duncan (pictured) has previously served as Chief Executive of NSW Roads and Maritime Services and as Deputy Director General of DPC.

He is to lead the dissolution of DPC and the establishment of its two replacement entities, the Cabinet Office and the Premier’s Department.

He replaces Michael Coutts-Trotter who has been appointed Acting Secretary of NSW Treasury.

Coutts-Trotter to Treasury

Michael Coutts-Trotter has been appointed Acting Secretary of NSW Treasury, along with Howard Collins as Acting Secretary of Transport for NSW (TfNSW) and Murat Dizdar as Acting Secretary of the Department of Education.

Mr Coutts-Trotter (pictured) most recently served as Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Mr Collins most recently served as Chief Operations Officer of TfNSW and Mr Dizzard most recently served as Deputy Secretary, School Performance at the Department of Education.

Their appointments follow the announcement that Secretary of Treasury, Paul Grimes, Secretary of Education, Georgina Harrisson, and Secretary of TfNSW, Rob Sharp, are to leave the NSW public sector.

Cross to Chief Behaviour Advisor

Donna Cross has been appointed Chief Behaviour Advisor.

Reporting to the Minister for Education’s School Advisory Council, the role will support the implementation of best-practice behaviour and inclusion in education.

Emeritus Professor Cross (pictured) is a Professor with the School of Global and Population Health at the University of Western Australia, and Program Head of Health Promotion and Education Research at the Telethon Kids Institute.

She commences in the role on 27 March on an initial two-year engagement.

Magistrate Allen to District Court

Michael Allen has been appointed Judge of the District Court after acting in the role since 2022.

Acting Judge Allen (pictured) was appointed a magistrate of the Local Court in 2009 and was elevated to Deputy Chief Magistrate in 2018.

Prior to his appointment as Magistrate, he served as a solicitor in the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Legal Aid Commission,

Acting Judge Allen will be sworn in on 27 February.

Draper to Reconstruction Authority

Simon Draper has been appointed the first permanent Chief Executive of the newly established NSW Reconstruction Authority.

Mr Draper (pictured) was most recently CEO of Infrastructure NSW and has previously served as Secretary of the Department of Industry and Deputy Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

He commenced in the new role on Tuesday (14 February).

O’Kane to Museums History board

Mary O’Kane has been appointed inaugural Chair of the Museums of History NSW Board along with Loretta Di Mento as Deputy Chair and seven board members.

Ms O’Kane (pictured) is Chair of the NSW Independent Planning Commission and served as NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer from 2008 to 2018.

Ms Di Mento is a non-executive director and advisor holding multiple Board and Audit Committee roles for Government Agencies and not-for-profit organisations.

Other appointed board members include Penelope Seidler, Sharon Veale, Dylan Mooney, Kirsten McKenzie, John Maynard, Chris McDiven and Anton Enus.

Clarke to RAA Board

Louise Clarke has been appointed to the NSW Rural Assistance Authority (RAA) Board, along with the reappointment of Derek Schoen.

The Rural Assistance Authority administers financial assistance programs, on behalf of the NSW and Australian Governments, to help farmers and farm-related small businesses to become more resilient, self-reliant and sustainable.

Ms Clarke (pictured) is an Executive Leadership Coach with over 35 years of senior executive experience in banking and finance, social services and leadership roles.

Kinmond for kids’ guardian

Stephen Kinmond has been appointed NSW Children’s Guardian to lead the Office of the Children’s Guardian (OCG).

Mr Kinmond (pictured) has previously served as NSW Community & Disability Services Commissioner and Deputy Ombudsman (Human Services).

He commences his five-year term on 16 January, replacing Richard Weston who has acted in the position since October.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.