26 September 2023

Call to celebrate ACT’s sporting heroes

Start the conversation

Canberrans are being called on to celebrate the ACT’s exceptional local athletes, teams, coaches, volunteers and sporting organisations at this year’s CBR Sport Awards.

Opening nominations, Minister for Sport and Recreation, Yvette Berry said the Awards gave the community a chance to acknowledge the hard work and success of the Territory’s athletes.

“The CBR Sport Awards allow us to take time to reflect on and honour the excellence of our sporting communities, whether that’s on the world stage or within our own, local sports,” Ms Berry said.

“We love celebrating the outstanding achievements of all involved,” she said.

“Our Canberran athletes excel in such a diverse range of sports.”

Ms Berry said this year’s winners would join the ranks of champions like Patty Mills, the 2021 Athlete of the Year Men’s Sport; Laura Peel, who took out Athlete of the Year Women’s Sport 2021; and James Turner, the Athlete of the Year Para Sport 2021.

She encouraged peak sporting organisations and local sporting clubs to nominate their highest achievers in community and elite level sport who contributed to the ACT’s proud sporting culture.

“Canberra is recognised as a sporting capital and sport unifies us as a community, building a sense of pride in our city,” the Minister said.

“The CBR Sport Awards are a wonderful way to highlight what some of our local athletes are achieving – on a global stage.”

Further information on the CBR Sport Awards can be accessed at this PS News link.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.