26 September 2023

VPS to greet New Year with MoG changes

Start the conversation

Victoria’s public servants may be answering to a different Minister next year with the State’s new Cabinet sworn in and upcoming Machinery of Government Changes to take effect from 1 January.

Announced by Premier Daniel Andrews, Jacinta Allan is to lead the Department of Transport and Planning, reappointed as Minister for Transport and Infrastructure, Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop and Minister for Commonwealth Games Delivery.

“Sonya Kilkenny will become Minister for Planning, as well as keeping her responsibilities for fishing, boating and the other activities that boost local economies and keep families active as Minister for Outdoor Recreation,” Mr Andrews said.

“Jaclyn Symes will remain Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, retaining her position as Attorney-General, and Minister for Emergency Services,” he said.

“Lizzie Blandthorn will be Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, taking on the portfolios of Disability, Ageing and Carers and Child Protection and Family Services and leading the Department of Families, Fairness and Housing.”

Mr Andrews said Tim Pallas would remain Treasurer, retaining responsibilities as Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Trade, now including the Investment portfolio.

He said Danny Pearson would lead a new Department of Government Services as Minister for Government Services while retaining his position as Assistant Treasurer and taking on responsibilities as Minister for WorkSafe and the Transport Accident Commission and Minister for Consumer Affairs.

“Lily D’Ambrosio will drive the Labor Government’s work to deliver cheaper, cleaner power with Government-owned energy as Minister for the State Electricity Commission – as well as Minister for Climate Action and Minister for Energy and Resources,” the Premier said.

“She will lead this transition from the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action – with Resources and Agriculture to move into this Department.”

He said Ingrid Stitt would become Minister for Environment, while Mary-Anne Thomas would continue as Minister for Health and lead Minister for the Department of Health.

Mr Andrews said Ms Thomas would also add the portfolios of Health Infrastructure and Medical Research to her responsibilities.

“Gabrielle Williams will gain the Ambulance Services portfolio, as well as continuing to rebuild the State’s mental health services from the ground up as Minister for Mental Health and delivering truth and justice to First Victorians as Minister for Treaty and First Peoples,” the Premier said.

The full list of Ministerial Cabinet appointments can be accessed at this PS News link.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.