26 September 2023

Post-election shuffle for departments and agencies

Start the conversation

The Public Service Commission has issued a summary of the changes to Departments following the State election last month.

The summary shows that 14 of the Departments have experienced changes to their responsibilities with seven renamed, six unchanged and one new Department created. Ministries have been reduced from 19 to 14.

Two temporary three-month appointments have been made. These positions will be advertised and permanent appointments announced following a selection process.

Departments changing, or facing changes, include the Department of Tourism, Innovation and Sport, where John Lee is in acting role: and the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries where Beth Woods is retiring and Bob Gee is to take up the position early next year.

At the Department of Resources, Mike Kaiser (pictured) will take up an acting role as Director-General beginning in January.

The heads of all other Departments and Agencies are continuing appointments.

They are:

Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Dave Stewart; Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and planning, Damien Walker; Coordinator-General,Toni Power; Queensland Treasury, Rachel Hunter.

Department of Education, Tony Cook; Queensland Health, John Wakefield; Department of Transport and Main Roads, Neil Scales; Department of Energy and Public Works, James Purtill; Department of Justice and Attorney General, Dave Mackie.

Queensland Police Service, Katarina Carroll; Queensland Corrective Services, Peter Martin; Queensland Fire and Emergency Services, Greg Leach; Department of Communities and Housing and Digital Economy, Clare O’Conner; Department of Regional Development, Manufacturing and Water, Frankie Carroll.

Department of Employment, Small Business and Training, Warwick Agnew; Department of Seniors and Disability Services and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Partnerships, Chris Sarra and Mary-Anne Curtis (Associate Director-General Seniors and Disability Services).

Department of Environment and Science, Jamie Merrick; Department of Children, Youth Justice and Multicultural Affairs, Deidre Mulkerin.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.