26 September 2023

New stamps to be fun to lick

Start the conversation

Australia Post has released a number of stamps honouring some of Australia’s great comedic talents as part of its Legends Awards series.

Executive General Manager Community and Consumer at Australia Post, Nicole Sheffield said the 2020 Legends – Magda Szubanski, Garry McDonald, Adam Hills and Noeline Brown – would each have an ‘in-character’ portrait featured on the new postage stamps.

“This year’s beloved recipients have entertained and delighted us for decades, not only with their side-splitting performances, but also through the characters and programs they have created,” Ms Sheffield said.

“I recall many of the shows with such fondness and, given the current climate, plan to introduce them to my children soon so I can enjoy a good laugh again.”

Now in its 24th year, the Australia Post Legends Awards celebrate Australians who have made a unique contribution to the nation through their field of endeavour, inspiring the community and influencing the way Australians think about themselves.

Ms Sheffield said customarily the Legends were honoured at an awards ceremony.

However, due to COVID-19 gathering restrictions, she said Australia Post would instead present the awards later in the year.

She said past recipients had included Sir Donald Bradman, Dame Joan Sutherland, Barry Humphries, Sir Gustav Nossal, Dame Elisabeth Murdoch, Cate Blanchett, Stephanie Alexander, Rod Laver and Bert Newton.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.