18 October 2023

New Melbourne Water chair Greg Wilson returns to organisation he joined 'straight out of high school'

| Travis Radford
Start the conversation
New Melbourne Water Chair Greg Wilson.

​New Melbourne Water Chair Greg Wilson. Photo: Melbourne Water.

Greg Wilson’s career came full circle this month after returning as board chair for the statutory body he first began working for “straight out of high school” some four decades ago.

Mr Wilson started his Melbourne Water career in January 1980, working in a number of administration roles through to the mid-1990s. Over the next three decades he worked with the Department of Premier and Cabinet, was the Secretary of Justice and Recreation and the Deputy Secretary (Water Sector) in the Department of Sustainability and Environment.

He also served as board chair of the Country Fire Association, Victorian State Emergency Service, Traffic Accident Commission and Victorian Essential Services Commission.

READ ALSO ‘Alarming’ and ‘outrageous’: Union appalled at sexual harassment spike revealed in tertiary survey

“Starting at Melbourne Water straight out of high school, and being involved in water reforms over the course of my career, I’m excited to return in this position to help support [Melbourne Water managing director Dr Nerina Di Lorenzo] and the Melbourne Water team to achieve our strategic and operational priorities,” Mr Wilson said. “This is very much a stewardship role.

“I obviously have a lot of experience in the water sector and I’ve worked across the public sector in various senior leadership roles, so I feel I can contribute great value to the board.

“I’m looking forward to discovering the challenges and, with my broad experience, help to support solutions that benefit our communities and the environment.”

READ ALSO UC study shows VR technology has positive impact on aged care residents’ wellbeing

Mr Wilson’s appointment was confirmed by the Victorian Government as part of a standard programmed cycle of board renewal, which included a new chair and four new board members.

The new members include Monique Conheady, an experienced director with a private sector background, Binda Gokhale, an experienced executive and non-executive director, Freya Marsden, an experienced chair and non-executive director and Cameron Myrtle, a Taungurung traditional owner and executive manager of corporate services at the Taungurung Land and Waters Council.

The new appointees joined returning directors Anita Roper, James Atkins, Fiona Rowland and Andrew Cairns. Dr Di Lorenzo, who also sits on the board, welcomed the new members.

“I look forward to working together with them to continue to deliver meaningful outcomes to the community we serve and tackle the challenges we face in this decade that matters,” she said.

The new board appointees replace outgoing members, professor John Thwaites (chair), Kathleen Bailey-Lord (deputy chair), Russell Anderson and Robyn McLeod.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.