26 September 2023

New 50/50 Ministry a first for NSW

Start the conversation

New South Wales’ new Ministry has been sworn in with a mandate to rebuild NSW’s essential services.

Announcing his full Ministry, Premier Chris Minns said it was a reduced Cabinet of 22 Ministers, but for the first time in NSW history, it was 50 per cent women (excluding the Premier).

“For the first time in New South Wales history, a woman will hold the position of Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council,” Mr Minns said.

“For the first time in New South Wales history, a woman will hold the portfolio of Energy (Sharpe), Police (Catley), Regional NSW (Moriarty), Finance (Houssos) and Regional Transport (Aitchison),” he said.

“For the first time in New South Wales history, an Australian Minister was sworn in on the Bhagavad Gita (Mookhey), and a NSW Minister will be sworn in on the Quran (Dib).”

Mr Minns said Penny Sharpe, who was sworn in as interim Minister for the Environment and Minister for Heritage, would retain responsibility for those portfolios and take on Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council.

He said Yasmin Catley would take on the responsibility of Minister for Police and Counter Terrorism, while Jihad Dib would take on Customer Service and Digital Government, as well as Emergency Services and Youth Justice.

“Tara Moriarty will take on Agriculture, Regional NSW and Western NSW,” the Premier said.

“David Harris will take on Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty, Gaming and Racing, Veterans, Medical Research, and the Central Coast,” he said.

“Our priority is to help families and households deal with the increasing cost of living, the energy crisis and to fix our schools and hospitals.”

Deputy Premier, Prue Car retains the Education and Early Learning portfolio and Western Sydney.

Special Minister of State, John Graham, keeps Minister for Roads, Minister for the Arts and Minister for Night-time Economy and Music, in addition to Jobs and Tourism.

Daniel Mookhey retains his position as Treasurer, and Michael Daley as Attorney General, while Ryan Park holds on to the Ministerial portfolios of Health and Regional health, Mental Health and the Illawarra and South Coast.

Jo Haylen is to focus on her position as Minister for Transport, handing over responsibility for Lands and Property, and Sport to Stephen Kamper, and Better Regulation and Fair Trading, as well as Innovation, Science and Technology to Anoulack Chanthivong.

Paul Scully has been sworn in as Minister for Planning and Public Spaces, while Sophie Cotsis taking on Industrial Relations and Work Health and Safety.

Kate Washington takes responsibility for the Ministerial portfolios of Families and Communities, and Disability Inclusion and Ron Hoenig was sworn in as Minister for Local Government and Vice-President of the Executive Council.

Courtney Houssos is Minister for Finance and Minister for Natural Resources, and Jennifer Aitchison is Minister for Regional Transport and Roads.

Rose Jackson takes on the six Ministerial portfolios of Water; Housing; Homelessness; Mental Health; Youth; and the North Coast.

Timothy Crakanthorp is Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education and Minister for the Hunter, while Jodie Harrison takes on three Ministerial portfolios, Women, Seniors, and Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault.

The Premier’s official list of the Ministry can be accessed at this PS News link.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.