25 September 2023

Electorate borders spark objections

Start the conversation

The ACT Electoral Commissioner has announced that seven objections have been received to the proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries.

The Commissioner, Damian Cantwell said the objections were now available for public viewing.

Mr Cantwell said the Assembly’s electoral boundaries were being redrawn in preparation for the next election, due on 17 October 2020.

“The Redistribution Committee published a proposed redistribution of the ACT into five electorates on 7 May 2019 and invited objections to the proposal by 3 June 2019,” Mr Cantwell said.

“Seven objections to the proposal are available for public inspection at the ACT Electoral Commission website and at the office of the Commission.”

He said the objections were to be considered by the Augmented Electoral Commission at a meeting being held today (6 June).

“The Augmented Electoral Commission has the power to either propose a new set of electorate boundaries and/or names, or to uphold the boundaries and electorate names proposed by the Redistribution Committee,” he said.

“Before it makes a decision, the Augmented Electoral Commission may also decide to hold a public hearing into the objections.”

He said the Redistribution Committee consisted of himself, the ACT Planning and Land Authority, represented by Ben Ponton; ACT Surveyor-General, Jeffrey Brown and Director, Demography at the Australian Bureau of Statistics, Beidar Cho.

They would now be joined by the Chair of the ACT Electoral Commission, Dawn Casey, and the other member of the Commission, Philip Moss, to form the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.