1 August 2023

Australian Communications and Media Authority welcomes three new appointees

| Andrew McLaughlin
Start the conversation

Three new appointees will take up five-year terms with ACMA. Photo: Manteena Commercial.

Communications Minister Michelle Rowland has announced the appointment of three new members to the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA).

Adam Suckling, Samantha Yorke and Carolyn Lidgerwood have been appointed to ACMA for a period of five years, replacing current members.

Mr Suckling started work at ACMA on 24 July. He was previously the CEO of Copyright Agency, and has extensive experience across the telecommunications, media and broadcasting sectors.

Ms Yorke will start at ACMA on 28 August. She is currently a senior manager in Google’s Government Affairs team, leading its public policy strategy and advocacy on matters of privacy, cyber and mis/disinformation. She has a strong legal and regulatory background in the private sector and previously worked with government on media, online safety and digital platform matters.

Ms Lidgerwood will take up her role at ACMA on 16 October. She is currently the Head of Privacy at Rio Tinto and brings extensive expertise in legal and regulatory frameworks including telecommunications, privacy, broadcasting and radio communications.

An independent commonwealth statutory authority, ACMA regulates communications and media services in Australia, including content matters, telco consumer issues, compliance and enforcement, and spectrum management. The authority is made up of a chair, deputy chair, three full-time members and up to three part-time associate members.

READ ALSO Telco industry standards to be tightened to better support customers experiencing financial hardship

Current ACMA chair Nerida O’Loughlin was reappointed for two years in October 2022, while deputy chair and CEO Crania Chapman’s role was extended by 18 months in June 2023.

There are currently two part-time associate members – Anna Brakey who is two years into a five-year term and Catriona Lowe who was appointed to her five-year term in June 2023.

“The Albanese Government is committed to ensuring the authority has the right mix of skills and experience so that the regulator can fulfil its important functions,” Ms Rowland said in a 26 July release.

“I congratulate the appointees and look forward to working with them and the ACMA in coming years. I am confident Mr Suckling, Ms Yorke and Ms Lidgerwood will help support the ACMA as it confronts complex emerging challenges across telecommunications, broadcasting and online content.”

The appointments follow a government announcement earlier this month that it had directed ACMA to tighten enforceable industry standards for telecommunications companies so that customers experiencing financial hardship could be better supported.

Original Article published by Andrew McLaughlin on Riotact.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.