26 September 2023

ABC easy at NT and NSW awards

Start the conversation

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) has taken home multiple awards for its news and sports journalism at the NT Media Awards and the NSW Kennedy Awards.

The ABC said Jano Gibson was named Journalist of the Year and Sowaibah Hanifie awarded Young Journalist of the Year at the NT Media Awards.

“Jano also won two awards for Best News Coverage, in both the text and TV/Radio categories, as well as the top prize for Best Sports Journalism,” the ABC said.

“In the NSW Kennedy media awards Mark Willacy picked up yet another gong for his incredible reporting on alleged war crimes committed by Australian forces overseas,” it said.

Background Briefing and Landline won the trophy for Outstanding Regional Broadcast Reporting, which is named for ABC legend Paul Lockyer.”

The ABC said Gavin Coote won the Sean Flannery Award for Outstanding Radio Journalism at the NSW Kennedy Awards.

It said NT Media Awards were also awarded to Jane Bardon, Best Current Affairs or Feature (Television/Radio); Liz Trevaskis, Excellence in Radio Broadcasting; Henry Zwartz and Lauren Roberts, Pete Davies Memorial Campaigning Journalism Award; and Hamish Harty, Visual Storytelling.

A full list of ABC Award winners can be accessed at this PS News link.

Start the conversation

Be among the first to get all the Public Sector and Defence news and views that matter.

Subscribe now and receive the latest news, delivered free to your inbox.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.